Einhellig Interdisciplinary Forum

Two students talking at the Graduate Interdisciplinary Forum

The 26th Annual Frank Einhellig Graduate Interdisciplinary Forum was held on Saturday, May 4, 2019, in the Robert W. Ballroom inside Plaster Student Union. Presentations began at 8 am, and presenters were there to check in at 7:45 am. 

The 27th Annual Frank Einhellig Graduate Interdisciplinary Forum will be held on Saturday, May 2, 2020.

Share your research and creativity

The Frank Einhellig Interdisciplinary Forum showcases graduate student research and creative works through oral, poster and performance presentations.  These presentations are designed for a mixed audience, so jargon is minimized and explanations are clear.

Presentation categories

You can present your research though an oral presentation, a visual poster or a performance. Learn details and tips for presenters

Oral presentations - in person or virtually

You will have 12 minutes to present followed by 3 minutes for audience questions.  Please load your presentations on the room computer prior to the day's presentations.

Virtual presenters will be sharing their prepared materials and talking to the IDF attendees through Zoom. Please contact the Graduate College by March 16th for information on how this will work.

Poster presentations

Your poster will be hung between 7:45 and 11:45, and you will be assigned a 1-hour block to stand with it for judging.


You will have 15 minutes to perform. If your piece is static, consider entering the poster division.

Presentation Criteria

View the 2019 IDF Judging Criteria here. 


Awards for outstanding presentations are given in the three presentation divisions. Also, the award winners for Outstanding Graduate Assistants, Graduate Mentor and Graduate Faculty are announced at the forum.  This ceremony will start shortly after noon (in the PSU theater) and will last about an hour.  In addition to awards, it will include welcome messages from our President, our Provost, and the Graduate College Dean. The awards ceremony will start at approximately 12:10 pm and conclude by 1:30 pm. 

2019 winners

These students were recognized for their outstanding presentations at the 26th IDF:

Oral Poster

Oluwasegun Abolade

Abbigale Brown

Andrew White

Nathan Dorff

Daniel Hostens

Rajan Khadka

Sadie Land 

Amy Jordan

Zachary Ingram

Aidan Williams

McKenzie Mathewson

Elayna Coleman

Taylor Drosset-Stanfield

Jacqueline Payerli

Sarah Stone

Erin Geeding

Kirsten Kliethermes

Katie Pennell

Tyler Engerlbart

Meagan Rippee-Brooks

Sinjan Majumder

Abby Kosydor

Erica Samuel

Blair Hosier

Spencer Thomas

Steven Dillard

Andrew Dickerson

Bennett Conway

Halle Lynch

Kenneth Bedell

Natalie March

Joshua DeLozier

Jordan Shalla

Ambassador Mitchell

Shen Chen Hsieh


Other involvement opportunities

If you don’t want to present, you can be involved in the forum by:


You will receive a confirmation via email within a week over the holidays or in less time when classes are in session.

You will receive detailed information before the event.

Submitting an Abstract

Want to present at the IDF? Submit your abstract by noon on March 30th, 2020.


You will receive a confirmation via email within a week over the holidays or in less time when classes are in session.

IDF Event Documents

Schedule of events - activities between 7:30 am and 1:00 pm.

  • See the overview of the event from last year, Saturday, May 5, 2018
  • See the detailed program of 2018 presentations: Oral, Performance, and Poster
  • Read all the abstracts from 2018 presenters

Judging Evaluation Sheets: