Past Award Winners

Distinguished Teaching Assistant Award (MAGS Nominee)

2020-2021 Matthew So Biology
2019-2020 no nominations were submitted  
2018-2019 Kailyn Hall English

Colton Lynn

♦2nd Place at MAGS♦

2016-2017 Taylor Smith  Psychology
2015-2016 Shaley Moore Communication
2014-2015 Hyoeun McDermott Biology
2013-2014 Katelyn Bartlett Biology
2012-2013 Denise Thompson Biology

Distinguished Thesis Award (MAGS Nominee*)

Year Winner Department Category

Brianna VerPloeg

David Dooling



Biological Sciences


2019-2020 Daniel Jones Religious Studies Humanities

Flora-Jean Forbes

Angeline Rodriquez

Daniel Armstrong



Religious Studies

Social Science

Biological Sciences


2017-2018 Wesley Weichert Geospatial Science Physical Sciences
2016-2017 Akram Afatle English Humanities
2016-2017 Brigette Williams Plant Science Life Sciences
2016-2017 Jamie Smith* Psychology Social Sciences
2016-2017 David Huggins* Geospatial Science Physical Sciences
2015-2016 Harrison King* Religious Studies Humanities
2015-2016 Hyoeun McDermott* Biology Life Sciences
2014-2015 Daniel Pap Plant Science/Biology  
2014-2015 Caitlin Masterson* Psychology  
2013-2014 Matthew Hartman Religious Studies  
2012-2013 Jessica Miller Natural and Applied Sciences  
2012 Linda Covey Religious Studies  

3 Minute Thesis Awards

Year Winner Dept.
2020-2021 Kati Morgan Nurse Anesthesia
2019-2020 Kafayat Yusuf Biology
2018-2019 Jesse Carrol Plant Science

Sarah Spangler

**Runner-up, Mecca Walker

placed 2nd at MAGS**



2016-2017 Cassandra Sherwood Communication
2015-2016 Eric Briggs I/O Psychology


Outstanding Graduate Mentor (MSU Award - nominated by Graduate Students)

Year Winner Department
2019-2020 Kyoungtae Kim Biology
2017-2018 Matthew McKay Geography, Geology and Planning
2016-2017 Melinda Novik Kinesiology
2015-2016 Chin-Feng Hwang Agriculture
2014-2015 Kyoungtae Kim Biology
2013-2014 Cindy MacGregor Counseling, Leadership, and Special Education

Outstanding Graduate Assistant (MSU Award)

Year Winner and Department Award Type
(Administrative, Teaching, Research, or Graduate Mentor)
2020 Twon Madison Administrative Assistant
2020 Kenny Kabak Teaching Assistant
2019 Aline dos Santos Gomes Administrative Assistant
2019 Dimetria Green Teaching Assistant
2018 Jaggar Deeds (Finance) Administrative Assistant
2018 Kinzang Duba (GGP) Research Assistant
2017 Erica Lord, Access Tech Center Administrative Assistant
2017 Kendell Loyd, Bio Teaching Assistant
2017 Jennifer Telfer, MSW Research Assistant
2016 Samantha Reiter Administrative Assistant
2016 Adedamola Opalade Teaching Assistant
2016 Christine Hannis Research Assistant
2015 Michelle Madsen, SAHE (Blair-Shannon) Administrative Assistant
2015 Justin Drane, MNAS/GGP Teaching Assistant
2015 William Boyer, MNAS/AGR Research Assistant

Adam Crawford, CLSE

Administrative Assistant

Jaclyn Brandhorst, COM

Teaching Assistant
2014 Emily Stefano, PSY Research Assistant
2013 Hunter Klie, Administrative Studies Administrative Assistant
2012 Drew Rogers, Social Work Administrative Assistant
2011 Lisa Wainwright, Office of Student Financial Aid Administrative Assistant
2010 Jessica Clements, University Communications Administrative Assistant
2009 Laura Clark, Communication Sciences and Disorders Administrative Assistant
2008 Lindsay Goodwin, Political Science Administrative Assistant
2007 Kazumi Holcomb, English Language Institute (ELI) Administrative Assistant
2006 Meghan Lowery, Office of the Provost Administrative Assistant
2005 Nicole Flowers, College of Education Administrative Assistant
2004 Matt Frauenhoffer, Office of Disability Services Administrative Assistant
2003 Heather Barbre, Center for Dispute Resolution Administrative Assistant
2002 Ben Atwell, Social Work Administrative Assistant